Anna Burns Wins Man Booker Award-2018 for Milkman


Anna Burns emerged the winner of the coveted Man Booker Award for 2018 for her novel Milkman on October 16, 2018. Anna, the first Northern Irish Writer to win the £50,000 (Rs 48 lakh) Man Booker honour, received the award from Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall at the Guildhall in London on October 16, 2018. Milkman is a vibrant and violent story narrated by a young girl living in 1970s Northern Ireland during the Catholic-Protestant violence era there. Milkman was published in Britain in May this year. Anna Burn’s Milkman pipped five other novels to win the honour.

Six shortlisted novelists along with their novels for the Man Booker Prize this year are as follow:

Author Book
Anna Burns Milkman   (Winner)
Robin Robertson The Long Take
Rachel Kushner The Mars Room 
Richard Powers The Overstory
Esi Edugyan Washington Black
Daisy Johnson Everything Under


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.